Qatar free visa on arrival for Indians

Indians can travel to Qatar without a visa for up to 30 days.

Probably a bit late but Qatar has joined as a new country that now provides a free tourist visa for Indian passport holders. The service has also been extended to China and Russia.

There are two categories of countries that do not need to obtain a visa before they land in Qatar – in the first category Qatar currently has 34 countries whose citizens do not have to apply in advance for a tourist visa. Citizens of these countries can obtain a visa on arrival. All they need to produce is a valid passport, sufficient money to cover the visit, and an onward return journey ticket for the visa. The visa on arrival can be a single or multiple entries.

Citizens of these 34 countries can stay in Qatar for up to 90 days without a visa:

Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Seychelles, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey

Qatar has recently been involved in a bitter relationship with its neighbours and the move to ease the visa process is seen as an attempt to boost its tourism. 

The second group whose nationals can apply for a visa on arrival currently has 46 countries. The passport holders of these countries can obtain a visa on arrival in Qatar as well. The only difference is that countries in this group can only apply for a Qatari visa on arrival for 30 days, however, the visa can be extended for further 30 days if needed. India falls into this category.

And citizens of these countries can stay in Qatar for up to 30 days without a visa:

Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Belarus, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Cuba, Ecuador, Panama, Costa Rica, Georgia, Guyana, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Japan, Kazakhstan, Lebanon, Azerbaijan, Macedonia, Malaysia, Maldives, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, New Zealand, Paraguay, Peru, Russia, San Marino, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Suriname, Thailand, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City, Venezuela

The documents you will need would a passport that is valid for at least six months from the time you apply for the visa. A credit or debit card to pay for the fee, and a return ticket for your onward journey. For further information visit the Qatar Ministry of Tourism.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *